Cod Shortlisted for the Prestigious Winterset Award!

The Winterset Award is designed to encourage and promote excellence in all genres of writing. One prize of $5000, and two prizes of $1000 are awarded annually.

The Winterset Award is awarded to an outstanding literary work in any writing genre (fiction, non-fiction, poetry, published drama etc.) regardless of the subject matter. The over-riding consideration is excellence in writing by Newfoundlanders and Labradorians, as determined by the jury, making this a truly prestigious award. It’s not just that the mandate states “the over-riding consideration will be excellence in writing,” it’s that all genres are considered. In other words, the shortlist can be consider the best three books to come out of Newfoundland & Labrador that year.

Previous Winners of the Winterset Award

2006 – Kenneth J. Harvey – Inside
2005 – Joan Clark –
An Audience of Chairs
2004 – Ed Riche –
The Nine Planets
2003 – Robert Mellin –
2002 – Joan Clark –
The Word for Home
2001 – Michael Crummey –
The River Thieves
2000 – Michael Winter –
This All Happened

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *