Hard Ol’ Spot

Author: Mike Heffernan
Genre:
Pages: 200
Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.5 x .26 in
Weight: .7 kg
Published: August 25, 2009
ISBN: 9781897174487

Following in the tradition of Edgar Allan Poe and Oscar Wilde, St. John’s author Mike Heffernan has created an anthology of uniquely east-coast fiction: twisted, macabre, eery and compelling. The fourteen stories include work by such award-winning writers as Michael Crummey, Ramona Dearing, Jo-Anne Soper-Cook and many others. The foreword has been written by another award-winning Newfoundland writer – Kathleen Winter.

Hard Ol’ Spot is full of visceral imagery. Readers will be confronted by immigrant strangers in lonesome towns, and a suburb where rape is a girl’s first romance. These are stories of lost dreams, oceans that can swallow a man whole, and tales where personal sorrow is whipped by the wind until it becomes bitter and bloody.

For anyone who likes their literature written with a ragged quill pen, a messy inkpot, and a sinister edge, Hard Ol’ Spot brings us the dark beauty of Atlantic-Canadian fiction.

Buy This

$19.95

$19.95