Horizons – Faiths of Friends Series

Author: Breakwater Books
Genre: Educational
Dimensions: 128 × 8 × 2 in
Weight: 1 kg
Published: September 1, 2003
ISBN: 1-55081-181-9
EAN: 978-1-55081-181-0

The Faith of Friends series is part of Breakwater’s religious education series for children in grades 4-6.

This educational series introduces children to the underlying beliefs of the world’s major religions, and it teaches young students the value of being understanding and other perspectives and showing tolerance for those who have beliefs that vary from their own. This series employs a unique approach to religious education in that it seeks to inform students about a broad range of religious faiths without using the perspective of one specific religion, and without promoting any one religion.

The texts in this series comprise a religious education experience that can provide consistent, enriching experience for children over a three-year period. One of the most notable features of the series is that it uses learning strategies that accommodate “multiple intelligences” (i.e. the learning activities and exercises used are specially designed so that the series can accommodate children with different aptitudes and learning styles).

This series was created to accommodate the vision of the Newfoundland and Labrador Religious Education Curriculum: “to enable and encourage students to grow religiously, spiritually, and morally into informed, caring and contributing members of society, who appreciate their own beliefs and values of others, and who understand the contribution that Christianity and other religions make to human life.”

Breakwater Books is proud to have created an educational series that upholds this admirable vision.

Buy This